Gratitude On the Road (OTR) to Tribal Vision Festival

by Shannon McArthur

After a night spent perched on the side of a mountain overlooking Manitou Springs, Colorado, at the Garden of the Gods, we’re going through the Rockies on the road to our first festival of the tour. This place is everything they say it is, and pictures do not do it justice. We’ve seen amazing scenery and missed a plethora of fabulous photos — but we got some too! See…


The road reminds me of Highway 1, down the Pacific Coast. Windy (the adjective!) road; lots of deep curves and turns that open to beautiful vistas; narrow, blind and a totally engaging in-the-moment experience for the driver (JJ!) and completely enthralling to all passengers (me, and All Those who travel with me, though unseen)(You!? We are One! We just have to figure out this telepathy thing and SO much will become unnecessary and obsolete. Will lying become obsolete? Unnecessary? Oh, make it so…) Enough prayer!

I’m for a bit of gratitude; how about you? Me first, and then Spirit will listen to yours, k?

I’m grateful for the sun on my face and the ability to find shade; blessed be the trees! I am grateful for the wind in my hair; blessed be those who donated the sari scarves that decorate our campsite and keep me hopping because the wind blows them from the trees that give me shade from the sun that baked me well done yesterday, and today not so much… there are puffy white clouds and darker grey ones. And there was a drop on my arm as if Mother Nature is warning me that more may come. We’re saying prayers that it stays dry so the sage that I’ve hung up will dry in time for the opening ceremony. I’ve become the Sage Elder at this festival. While I’ve been part of festivals before, this is the first time I’ve been encouraged to do the work I’m passionate about; to get involved with the people doing ceremony. This makes my soul sing!

Oh right – back to it… I’m grateful for the fire last night that was the beacon that led JJ to me with a light, through the dark, so he could show me the fire he had been waiting for me at. I didn’t know there was more than one, and I got a hot sweet milk-tea where I was! I had been invited (pulled over) by the youngest of the current troupe – today she turns 6! And her birthday party will be under the big pink flower (it’s amazing how flowerlike a parachute can be when draped over a geodesic dome!)

Back when I was in Kamloops I said to an online private group of women professing to be going deep that I sought something deeper… having the opportunity to do what inspires me brings an element of clarity to the experiences I’ve had. This kind of tumultuous life is to be expected when you choose to give your life to Spirit–all the good, along with the challenges that spice things up. For me, my choice was made when I was 15, my promise given. I’ve waited a long time for that promise to be called in. I’ve lived, worked, wandered and wondered, searching for the answers without knowing the question; I’ve stumbled, fallen, got up, fallen, lay down and surrendered; and I have transformed (more than once!) – the path is before me.

And it’s beautiful!!  I wish we could share more than words…

Pththth!! Too bad – you’re there. But I’m grateful to be able to speak this way at least because this is awesome! Here at the Tribal Vision Festival I’m harvesting sage and helping in ceremonies. JJ whacked a lot of weeds yesterday (the grass is thigh high!) I gave the organizer, Jessica Joy, a tarot reading and helped serve dinner. While I got our camp kitchen organized, JJ helped construct the big outdoor Festival kitchen. Synchronistically, I had just strolled into the main festival area when a big gust of wind almost blew me over (along with the Festival kitchen) and I saw people trying to hold down the children’s dome. The parachute on it was trying to fly away! With me added, we managed to get the chute off before we took off to the Land of Oz to visit the Emerald City! (Ooo, a green city!)

Nice to have you here, if only virtually! Stay tuned for more adventures, taking the Story of the Stones to the streets, and festivals around the world…

