On the Road Again… in Glastonbury!

by Shannon McArthur

My year in Rotterdam is at an end. It was fun and challenging and awakening and transformational. It was the best of times and it was, at times, the worst. There are no complaints; only observations, lessons learned or grist for the mill to be churned over and over before the results can be useful. Time is the key…

That was one golden piece won in the bout. It is the key; can we find the door? Perhaps it’s here in Glastonbury! I’ve been up the Tor; it’s a long beautiful walk up hedgerow-lined narrow roads to a cemented pathway with steps up a very steep hill to the top where a single column still stands, the only remaining structure. You can read all about it on the internet, along with many personal testimonies. What I can tell you is that it is quiet; the view is magnificent and the people, everyone I met, was open and joyful. Even with struggles, joy and Spirit seem to underlie everything.

Last night we experienced a small bit of community magic like I imagined when creating the Our Heart Gardens concept – a meal provided for the community at no charge and for everyone! It was the Hari Krishna group here in town that provide the meal each Wednesday, and it was thanks to JJ for remembering the tradition. We went for a walk up on the Tor and lay down in the soft spring grasses overlooking the town; my phone hasn’t sync’d properly so the time is wrong but I didn’t know it at the time; we stopped enjoying the sunshine at 4:28 to make it by 5 but we made it by 4 and I had time to stop in at the Library, where I’ve spent much too much time because of internet non-connectivity, and apply for accommodation through Couchsurfing. Mission accomplished, I followed my intuition to join JJ for the meal. I felt welcomed and part of the place, eating that food.

I’d like to see the tomb of King Arthur. I’d like to see the Chalice Well. I’d like to have internet so I don’t have to keep wondering about the details and I’d be able to upload the things I’ve written on my iPad that are stuck there. I shall be patient. At this point in my life I’ve come to realize there are greater reasons than these for the way All That Is is…

So it’s to the West Coast of Canada that we go next; rent a car and drive to Kamloops; stay with Mom and get my car; reorganize and repack and return to the road – we’re going on a road trip to Colorado and other places south, taking the story of the stones to the people! We’ll be talking about the Synergy Hub experience and social architecture and all sorts of other bits of wisdom that have been part of our everyday experience in the Hub. There is so much good inspiring stuff to share; hoping that we can change the direction of people’s thoughts into more positive avenues because where our attention goes, energy flows. I want as little energy going to negative things as possible! Yes, we can just turn our backs on it; there are inspired people who are activated to take care of things like that – it doesn’t have to be you, unless your life path has made you especially powerful in that regard. If not, I urge you to give your self whole-heartedly into what does inspire you; it is how God, or Spirit, works through us.

If you don’t know what inspires you – start with gratefulness. Listen to yourself as you start with “I am grateful for the breath that connects me with the world. I am grateful for the blood that flows in my veins. I am grateful for the water that is the blood of Our Mother. I am grateful for the Earth below my feet and that has given me support throughout my days. I am grateful for…”  and you go on, continuing to speak the things that make you smile. It is through your appreciation of what you encounter in your life that will give you clues of what it is you are to do, along with all the other things that you do in your life… Above all, be happy and find fulfillment – that is the change we all need to see in this world… I believe…

